So here we are – Day 1 of our 100 Days, 100 Wines blog posts and I decided to kick it off with a great value wine I tasted last week that I just can’t seem to stop thinking about. I am such a fan of almost any wine coming out of Washington State, so it wasn’t really a surprise that I was so excited about this wine. The other part of my excitement was over the awesome price. At $12 retail, this is one of those wines that could become a staple, go to white to have on hand year round.

2009 Long Birch White Blend (Yakima Valley, Washington)

Image

I expected this to be a super fruity, sort of simple wine right off the bat (cute name, nice label, super affordable….so I kind of had in mind, how good could this really be?) but was surprised. It was kind of like biting into a ripe, juicy pear – and then taking a bite of a juicy orange, and then a hint of lemon. A combination of Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Gris, Chardonnay, Semillon, Roussanne and Marsanne…this white blend shows a lot of dimension for such a great price point. Super fresh and floral aromas, juicy and ripe on the palate with somewhat of a tropical influence with nice, bright acidity. Definitely a lot of bang for your buck – this would be a great party wine. It would appease lots of different palates from those that like things on the sweet and fruity side to those that prefer something a bit drier and more complex. This would be a great match to one of the curry dishes from Thai Grille over here in Uptown – I regularly get the chicken in the red curry sauce with vegetables and brown rice and this wine would be a great partner to that dish. For those that haven’t checked out the Thai Grille, this is my plug. Great little family owned and operated business, delicious, authentic Thai food. Grab a bottle of Lone Birch White – some Thai curry takeout, and you will be in for a treat.

