We  are excited for our Perfect Patio Wines tasting this friday – I mean why the hell not, its only 90 degrees this week!!  We are showcasing some of our favorite summer wines from the Vangaurd portfolio, the Pomelo Sauvignon Blanc being one of them. It’s going to be a great tasting!

In the meantime here are some of our pics for great summer patio wines – bright, crisp, citrusy, and awesome for those warm summer evenings.

2007 Naia Verdeljo

For those that want something with a bit more weight to it, this is a great summer option. I love Naia ( well first off I love this label – makes me feel like I am on vacation in Mexico) because of the beautiful citrus flavors and  I love that it has a bit of a fuller style to it. This is no wimpy wine. I am loving Spanish wine right now, particularly the Spanish whites – they are all so pleasant to drink on their own but they have great acidity so you can pair them with lots of different summer fare. The Naia is a great example of Verdeljo, which is gaining in popularity in the wine world. It’s received some accolades – 91 Points from the Wine Spectator…not too shabby.I would definitely give this one a go!

2009 Pomelo Sauvignon Blanc

Talk about the perfect summer wine….. this is one of them! Think fruit Explosion in your mouth! Lots of vibrant flavors of grapefruit and apple. Mouthwatering is a good word….like biting into a piece of fruit. This is a total patio sipping wine….one to enjoy cold on one of these hot summer nights. Beware – you will be back for more!

