Tonight is our Springtime tasting with Tramonte and Sons, a smaller distributor that we haven’t done a tasting with up until now. I am pretty excited about the selection, they are all really solid wines and all under $20 which we really love. Two of the wines in the lineup tonight are the new vintage of the Barnard Griffin Riesling and the 2008 Poppy Pinot Noir.  Both are great in their own right – this is a really nice Pinot for only $17 .

The Riesling is balanced…..not overly sweet, not too dry. I think it will have a good mass appeal. Not to mention the label is just really pretty and “spring like”, and it’s only $10!

This last wine is not part of this tasting but I am currently a bit obsessed with it so I had to share. Its a white blend from Monte Velho in Portugal. I had to look up the grapes that were used and I am not familiar with some of the varietals: Rabo de Ovelha / Arinto / Roupeiro / Perrum. In any case the blend is in my opinion the perfect spring/summer sipping wine. Not sweet but very fruity and fresh with a nice clean finish.  Plus I love that the varietals are so unique and that this wine is from Portugal….an area I could stand to explore a bit. This is one that I will be keeping on hand at our house for sure – it was the perfect wine to enjoy with Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice last night while my husband was out playing softball:)

