This afternoon I tasted some wines from Novelty Hill from the Novelty Hill – Januik Winery in Woodinville, Washington. The Director of Sales, Andrea, was in town and nice enough to stop by Meza with a selection of their wines. Now to be perfectly honest I have never heard of this winery and had no real expectations, aside from the fact that Jason and I have really enjoyed wines that we have tasted from this region. We tasted the 2007 Chardonnay from Stillwater Creek Vineyards first and I was hooked. I do love a bigger, rounder style of Chardonnay but can get quickly turned off by the overuse of oak. This was just the right amount – they used French oak to age the wine and the malolactic fermentation gave it a creamy texture.  I loved that you could still really taste the bright fruit and you got a nice amount of acidity.

Another winner was the Merlot. Typically not what I go for but this Merlot was rich and flavorful and complex but so soft on the palate. I could see this being a crowd pleaser.

Now I have th admit, another thing that wooed me to find great interest in this winery was the amazing photography from the winery itself.  The design of the winery  was recognized by the American Institute of Architects with an award. For fans of modern architecture such as Jason and myself, this place is on the must see list. Very inspirational.

Check out their website, which I think is very informative. Check Meza in a week or so to see which of their wines made it into our rotation!

http://www.noveltyhillwines.com/index.html

